Clayton County

Elections by Year


2024 Clayton County Primary Election

June 4, 2024

Primary Election
The Primary Election is an election to determine which candidates will qualify for the General Election for a given party. In Iowa you must be a member of the political party of which you wish to vote for in order to participate. This is known as a "closed primary." The primary election is held on the 1st Tuesday following the 1st Monday in June of each even-numbered year.

Candidate Filing

Nomination papers for county offices must be filed in the county auditor's office. County Supervisor, Auditor, and Sheriff will require 75 signatures on the nomination petition (Clayton County is a Plan One county with a population of 17,043). Signatures must be eligible electors of the county. Affidavit of candidacy must also be completed and returned with the nomination petition.

County Filing Dates: March 4, 2024 - March 22, 2024         

Click here for candidate forms and information.

Voter Registration

Pre-Registration deadline for voter registration closes at 5:00 PM Monday, May 20, 2024. Persons wishing to participate in this election who register to vote after May 20, 2024 will be required to provide proof of identification (i.e. current and valid photo identification card with an expiration date), AND proof of residency in their voting precinct, when they go to the polls on election day, or when they request an absentee ballot in-person. Other provisions may also apply. Persons not registered to vote by May 20, 2024 should expect a longer processing time at the polls on election day.

Absentee Ballots

All absentee ballots must be received by 8:00 PM on Election Day to be considered on time to be counted.

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning Wednesday, May 15, 2024 for mail and in-person voting. Download the absentee ballot request form here. 

Extended Hours

Extended hours are available for voter registration and absentee voting in the Clayton County Election Office. In addition to regular hours of Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm, extended office hours will be as follows:

Election Results

0/12 Precincts Counted

Precincts and Polling Locations


County Office Building · 600 Gunder Rd NE · Elkader, IA 52043
Precinct Map

Buena Vista-Millville

Millville County Shop · 35180 Hwy 52 · Guttenberg, IA 52052
Precinct Map


Strawberry Point Civic Center · 401 Commercial Street · Strawberry Point, IA 52076
Precinct Map


Garnavillo Community Building · 106 W Niagara Street · Garnavillo, IA 52049
Precinct Map

Cox Creek-Sperry

St. Paul's Fellowship Hall · 700 Washington Street · Volga, IA 52077
Precinct Map


Elkport-Garber Community Center · 120 Main Street · Elkport, IA 52044
Precinct Map


Farmersburg Community Center · 107 S Main Street · Farmersburg, IA 52047
Precinct Map


Monona Community Center · 104 S Egbert Street · Monona, IA 52159
Precinct Map

Grand Meadow-Marion

Turner Hall · 119 E Greene St · Postville, IA 52162
Precinct Map


Guttenberg Municipal Building · 502 First Street · Guttenberg, IA 52052
Precinct Map


Edgewood City Hall · 203 W Union St · Edgewood, IA 52042
Precinct Map


Marquette Community Center · 102 North Street · Marquette, IA 52158
Precinct Map
This webpage was printed on February 25, 2024. For the most current election-related information, visit the Clayton County, Iowa, Elections website at
powered by Neapolitan Labs