Clayton County

Elections by Year


2024 Clayton County General Election

November 5, 2024

General Election
A General Election is the election in which federal and state officers, members of Congress and of the general assembly, county and township officers, and other officers appear on the ballot. General Elections are held the 1st Tuesday after the 1st Monday in November of each even-numbered year.

Signature Requirment

Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioner and County Agricultural Extension Council will need a minium of 25 signatures on the nomination petition. Affidavit of Candidacy and Nomination Petition are required to file. Filing is opoen until August 28th at 5PM.

Township Trustee candidate filing begins August 5th. Deadline is August 28th by 5PM. Township Trustees will need a completed the Affidavit of Candidacy to file.

Click here for candidate forms and information.

Voter Registration

Pre-Registration deadline for voter registration closes at 5:00pm Monday, October 21. Persons wishing to participate in this election who register to vote after October 21 will be required to provide proof of identification (i.e. current and valid photo identification card with an expiration date), AND proof of residency in their voting precinct, when they go to the polls on election day, or when they request an absentee ballot in-person. Other provisions may also apply. Persons not registered to vote by October 21, should expect a longer processing time at the polls on election day.

Absentee Ballots

All absentee ballots must be received by 8:00PM on Election Day to be considered on time to be counted.

Absentee Ballots will be available beginning Wednesday, October 16, for mail and in-person voting. Download the absentee ballot request form here. 

Extended Hours

Extended hours are available for voter registration and absentee voting in the Clayton County Election Office. In addition to regular hours of Monday through Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm, extended office hours will be as follows:

Election Results

0/12 Precincts Counted

Precincts and Polling Locations


County Office Building · 600 Gunder Rd NE · Elkader, IA 52043
Precinct Map

Buena Vista-Millville

Millville County Shop · 35180 Hwy 52 · Guttenberg, IA 52052
Precinct Map


Strawberry Point Civic Center · 401 Commercial Street · Strawberry Point, IA 52076
Precinct Map


Garnavillo Community Building · 106 W Niagara Street · Garnavillo, IA 52049
Precinct Map

Cox Creek-Sperry

St. Paul's Fellowship Hall · 700 Washington Street · Volga, IA 52077
Precinct Map


Elkport-Garber Community Center · 120 Main Street · Elkport, IA 52044
Precinct Map


Farmersburg Community Center · 107 S Main Street · Farmersburg, IA 52047
Precinct Map


Monona Community Center · 104 S Egbert Street · Monona, IA 52159
Precinct Map

Grand Meadow-Marion

Turner Hall · 119 E Greene St · Postville, IA 52162
Precinct Map


Guttenberg Municipal Building · 502 First Street · Guttenberg, IA 52052
Precinct Map


Edgewood City Hall · 203 W Union St · Edgewood, IA 52042
Precinct Map


Marquette Community Center · 102 North Street · Marquette, IA 52158
Precinct Map
This webpage was printed on June 17, 2024. For the most current election-related information, visit the Clayton County, Iowa, Elections website at
powered by Neapolitan Labs